Menu
Educational Services & Special Education

The Director of Pupil Services oversees the implementation of special education supports,  educational services, and Section 504 accommodations for all grades preschool through high school across the Tolland Public Schools district.  It is the responsibility of this department to maintain compliance with all state and federal mandates relating to the IDEA and Section 504 processes.  This includes the timely completion of all required paperwork, and the timely implementation of all Individual Education Plans (IEPs) and Section 504 Plans.

The Department consists of one director, one secretary to the director, four school psychologists, five speech pathologists, one occupational therapist, and two part-time physical therapists, all of whom are supervised by the director.  These certified and/or licensed personnel participate in all aspects of the pre referral to identification process for any child potentially in need of specially designed instruction, accommodations, modifications, transition activities and/or related services.  They provide counseling, speech/language, fine or gross motor therapy to children through assessment and identification of specific needs.  In addition, one assistive technology technician collaborates with special education and Section 504 teams to determine if a child requires assistive technology, the type of technology required, and the level of training needed to implement the technology both for the student and necessary staff members.

Throughout the district, pupil services staff members work collaboratively with administrators, regular education teachers, consultants and parents to assist each child in receiving a free appropriate public education (FAPE) in the least restrictive environment (LRE).  The team is interested in educational benefit and strives to ensure that each child has access to the general education curriculum to the fullest extent possible.

Director of Pupil Services
Patricia A. Hess
phess@tolland.k12.ct.us
Secretary
Lisa Helme
lhelme@tolland.k12.ct.us
(p) (860) 870-6818 X 6
(f) (860) 870-6837
Special Services Secretary
Deb Wilson
dwilson@tolland.k12.ct.us
(p) 860-870-6850 X 8

School Psychologists Building Phone Number  E-Mail
Dr. Patricia Mace Birch Grove (860) 870-6750 X 10904  pmace@tolland.k12.ct.us
Ms. Melinda Welnicki TIS (860) 870-6885 X 40906 mwelnicki@tolland.k12.ct.us
Ms. Brenda Waterhouse TMS (860) 870-6860 X 20913  bwaterhouse@tolland.k12.ct.us
Ms. Kristin Tozier THS (860) 870-6818 X 10106 ktozier@tolland.k12.ct.us


Speech Pathologists Building Phone Number E-mail
Ms. Kristine Person Birch Grove (860) 870-6750 X 30113 kperson@tolland.k12.ct.us
Ms. Kathryn Schiaroli TIS (860) 870-6885 X 40209 kschiaroli@tolland.k12.ct.us
Ms. Karen Burrington Birch Grove (860) 870-6750 X 30208 kburrington@tolland.k12.ct.us
Ms. Loretta Black TIS (860) 870-6885 X 10015 lblack@tolland.k12.ct.us
Ms. Lucretia Fanning TMS (860) 875-6860 X 20303 lfanning@tolland.k12.ct.us

Occupational Therapist Building Phone Number E-mail
Ms. Pat Kronk Birch Grove (860) 870-6750 X 30137 pkronk@tolland.k12.ct.us

Physical Therapists Building Phone Number E-mail
Ms. Linda Tomaszewski Birch Grove (860) 870-6750 X 1 ltomaszewski@tolland.k12.ct.us
 Ms. Susan Moriarty  TMS  (860) 870-6860 X 1  smoriarty@tolland.k12.ct.us

Special Education Resources
IEP Manual
Transition Bill of Rights
Transition Bill of Rights (Spanish)
Parent's Guide to Special Education in Connecticut
Procedural Safeguards
Procedural Safeguards (Spanish)
Building a Bridge
Building a Bridge (Spanish)
CT Parent Advocacy Center
Restraint and Seclusion Laws
Tolland Family Resource Center
Success SEPTO
Child Find Regulation
Medicaid Tolland Notification Form For School Based Health Services.pdf