Menu
Educational Services & Special Education

The Director of Pupil Services oversees the implementation of special education supports,  educational services, and Section 504 accommodations for all grades preschool through high school across the Tolland Public Schools district.  It is the responsibility of this department to maintain compliance with all state and federal mandates relating to the IDEA and Section 504 processes.  This includes the timely completion of all required paperwork, and the timely implementation of all Individual Education Plans (IEPs) and Section 504 Plans.

The Department consists of one director, one secretary to the director, four school psychologists, five speech pathologists, one occupational therapist, and two part-time physical therapists, all of whom are supervised by the director.  These certified and/or licensed personnel participate in all aspects of the pre referral to identification process for any child potentially in need of specially designed instruction, accommodations, modifications, transition activities and/or related services.  They provide counseling, speech/language, fine or gross motor therapy to children through assessment and identification of specific needs.  In addition, one assistive technology technician collaborates with special education and Section 504 teams to determine if a child requires assistive technology, the type of technology required, and the level of training needed to implement the technology both for the student and necessary staff members.

Throughout the district, pupil services staff members work collaboratively with administrators, regular education teachers, consultants and parents to assist each child in receiving a free appropriate public education (FAPE) in the least restrictive environment (LRE).  The team is interested in educational benefit and strives to ensure that each child has access to the general education curriculum to the fullest extent possible.


Director of Pupil Services
Patricia A. Hess
phess@tolland.k12.ct.us


Pupil Services Supervisor
Wendy Cote
wcote@tolland.k12.ct.us


Pupil Services Secretary
Debra Wilson
dwilson@tolland.k12.ct.us
Phone: 860-870-6818 x 6
Fax: 
860-870-6837

Pupil Services Secretary
Heather Robertson
hrobertson@tolland.k12.ct.us
Phone: 860-870-6818 x 6

School Psychologists Building Phone Number E-Mail
Ms. Kristina Hopkins  Birch
Grove
Primary
860-870-6750
Ext. 10904
khopkins@tolland.k12.ct.us
       
Ms. Laura Hayes Tolland 
Intermediate
School
860-870-6885
Ext. 40906
lhayes@tolland.k12.ct.us
       
Ms. Brenda Waterhouse Tolland
Middle 
School
860-870-6860
Ext. 20913
bwaterhouse@tolland.k12.ct.us
       
Ms. Kristin Tozier Tolland
High
School
860-870-6818
Ext. 10106
ktozier@tolland.k12.ct.us
 
     
Occupational Therapist Building Phone Number E-Mail
 Ms. Patricia Kronk Birch 
Grove 
Primary
860-870-6760
Ext. 30137
pkronk@tolland.k12.ct.us
 
     
Physical Therapists Building Phone Number E-Mail
 Ms. Linda Tomaszewski Birch
Grove
Primary
860-870-6750
Ext. 30163
ltomaszewski@tolland.k12.ct.us
       
 
Ms. Susan Moriarty
Tolland
Middle 
School
860-870-6860
Ext.
smoriarty@tolland.k12.ct.us


Special Education Resources

IEP Manual
Transition Bill of Rights
Transition Bill of Rights (Spanish)
Parent's Guide to Special Education in Connecticut
Procedural Safeguards
Procedural Safeguards (Spanish)
Building a Bridge
Building a Bridge (Spanish)
CT Parent Advocacy Center
Restraint and Seclusion Laws
Child Find Regulation
Medicaid Tolland Notification Form For School Based Health Services.pdf
Sparkler 0 to Age 5 Family Support